

For Immediate Release

1943 RETROSPECTIVE HUGO AWARD FINALISTS REVEALED IN SAN JOSE, CA

WORLDCON 76 REVEALS FINALISTS FOR SCIENCE FICTION'S MOST PRESTIGIOUS FAN-NOMINATED AWARD

SAN JOSE, CA, March 31, 2018: The finalists for the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards were announced on Saturday, March 31, 2018, at 12 Noon PDT. The announcement was made live to social media, including the Twitter and Facebook accounts of Worldcon 76, and via the Worldcon 76 website.

204 valid nominating ballots (192 electronic and 12 paper) were received and counted from the members of the 2017, 2018, and 2019 World Science Fiction Conventions.

The final ballot to select the winners will open in April 2018, and will be open to all full Attending and Supporting members of Worldcon 76. The winners of the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards will be announced at a highlighted formal ceremony at the convention, on the evening of Thursday, August 16.

The Hugo Awards, presented first in 1953 and annually since 1955, are science fiction's most prestigious award, and one of the World Science Fiction Convention's unique and distinguished institutions.

Since 1993, Worldcon committees have had the option of awarding Retrospective Hugo Awards for past Worldcon years prior to 1953 where they had not been presented 25, 50, or 100 years prior to the contemporary convention, with the exception of the hiatus during World War II when no Worldcon was convened. A recent change in this policy has now allowed for Retro Hugos to be awarded for the years 1942-1945.

1943 Retrospective Hugo Award Finalists

Best Fan Writer

Forrest J Ackerman Jack Speer Arthur Wilson "Bob" Tucker Harry Warner, Jr. Art Widner Donald A. Wollheim

Best Fanzine

Futurian War Digest, edited by J. Michael Rosenblum
Inspiration, edited by Lynn Bridges
The Phantagraph, edited by Donald A. Wollheim
Spaceways, edited by Harry Warner, Jr.
Voice of the Imagi-Nation, edited by Forrest J Ackerman and Morojo
Le Zombie, edited by Arthur Wilson "Bob" Tucker

For Immediate Release

Page 3 REVEALED IN SAN JOSE, CA

Best Professional Artist

Hannes Bok Margaret Brundage Edd Cartier Virgil Finlay Harold W. McCauley Hubert Rogers

Best Editor - Short Form

John W. Campbell Oscar J. Friend Dorothy McIlwraith Raymond A. Palmer Malcolm Reiss Donald A. Wollheim

Best Dramatic Presentation - Short Form

Bambi, written by Perce Pearce, Larry Morey, et al., directed by David D. Hand et al. (Walt Disney Productions)

Cat People, written by DeWitt Bodeen, directed by Jacques Tourneur (RKO Radio Pictures, Inc.)

The Ghost of Frankenstein, written by W. Scott Darling, directed by Erle C. Kenton (Universal Pictures)

I Married a Witch, written by Robert Pirosh and Marc Connelly, directed by René Clair (Cinema Guild Productions / Paramount Pictures)

Invisible Agent, written by Curtis Siodmak, directed by Edwin L. Marin (Frank Lloyd Productions / Universal Pictures)

Rudyard Kipling's Jungle Book, written by Laurence Stallings, directed by Zoltan Korda (Alexander Korda Films, Inc. / United Artists)

Best Short Story

"Etaoin Shrdlu," by Fredric Brown (Unknown Worlds, February 1942)

"Mimic," by Martin Pearson (Donald A. Wollheim) (Astonishing Stories, December 1942)

"Proof," by Hal Clement (Astounding Science Fiction, June 1942)

"Runaround," by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction, March 1942)

"The Sunken Land," by Fritz Leiber (*Unknown Worlds*, February 1942)

"The Twonky," by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science Fiction, September 1942)

Best Novelette

"Bridle and Saddle," by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction, June 1942)

"Foundation," by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction, May 1942)

"Goldfish Bowl," by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science Fiction, March 1942)

"The Star Mouse," by Fredric Brown (Planet Stories, Spring 1942)

"There Shall Be Darkness," by C.L. Moore (Astounding Science Fiction, February 1942)

"The Weapon Shop," by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science Fiction, December 1942)

Best Novella

"Asylum," by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science Fiction, May 1942)

"The Compleat Werewolf," by Anthony Boucher (Unknown Worlds, April 1942)

"Hell is Forever," by Alfred Bester (Unknown Worlds, August 1942)

"Nerves," by Lester del Rey (Astounding Science Fiction, September 1942)

"The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag," by John Riverside (Robert A. Heinlein) (*Unknown Worlds*, October 1942)

"Waldo," by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science Fiction, August 1942)

Best Novel

Beyond This Horizon, by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science Fiction, April & May 1942) Darkness and the Light, by Olaf Stapledon (Methuen / S.J.R. Saunders)
Donovan's Brain, by Curt Siodmak (Black Mask, September-November 1942)
Islandia, by Austin Tappan Wright (Farrar & Rinehart)
Second Stage Lensmen, by E. E. "Doc" Smith (Astounding Science Fiction, November 1941 to February 1942)
The Uninvited, by Dorothy Macardle (Doubleday, Doran / S.J.R. Saunders)

The Hugo Awards ceremonies will be held at Worldcon 76 in San Jose on August 16-20, 2018 at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center.

###

press@worldcon76.org twitter.com/worldcon2018 www.facebook.com/worldcon76/

www.thehugoawards.org www.worldcon76.org www.sfsfc.org