The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.

Hugo Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2018 Hugo Award, Award for Best Young Adult Book, and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and for the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards were announced on March 31, 2018. See the 2018 Hugo Award and the 1943 Retro-Hugo Award finalists announcements for the full list of finalists.

Hugo Award Final Ballot Voting

Voting for the 2018 and 1943 Hugo Awards is now open and will  and continue through July 31, 2018. Only supporting and attending members of Worldcon 76 (and members with equivalent voting rights) who join the convention before the end of final ballot voting will be eligible to vote on the final ballot. We will send all members who have registered an e-mail address with us instructions on how to vote electronically. Members are also able to vote using a paper ballot that is be published on the Worldcon 76 web site and included in Progress Report 3.

You can see information about your account at You can use your email address as login and click on "View or Change Your Existing Registration". Use the Forgot Password to get a New Password.

For Hugo Pin Lookup go to After trying the above, if you are still having a Hugo PIN problem then email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Electronic Ballots

Paper Ballots

Hugo Voter Packet

The Hugo Voter Packet is an electronic package of free material provided by nominees and publishers for Hugo voters. Please note that the packet does not contain all nominated works in their entirety.

The overall Hugo process is as follows (this is the general description, not specific to Worldcon 76):

  1. During January-March each year members of the Worldcon are each allowed to nominate up to five people or works from the previous year in fifteen categories.
  2. In early April a shortlist is announced of six finalists in each category and a final ballot is sent to members of the Worldcon that year.
  3. The members of the current Worldcon cast a final ballot, with balloting ending around sometime in July (it depends on exactly when Worldcon is that year.) The ballot is a preferential ballot which allows the voters to rank all nominees.
  4. At Worldcon the winners are announced at the Hugo Ceremony and receive a special trophy.

Retrospective Hugo Awards

WSFS rules allow a Worldcon held an even multiple of 25 years after any year after 1938 when no Hugo Awards were presented (including years when no Worldcons were held) to present Retrospective Hugo Awards for that year, provided that "Retro-Hugos" for that year have not previously been awarded. The Retrospective Hugo Awards must use the categories currently in force for the current Hugo Awards, but this does not include the Award for Best Young Adult Book or the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, neither of which is a Hugo Award. As with the "regular" Hugo Awards, any categories in which there is little or no interest will be dropped.

Worldcon 76 has elected to exercise its authority to present the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards, which are generally for works first published or appearing in 1942. There was no Worldcon held in 1943, nor have there been Retro-Hugos previously presented for that year. The 1943 Retro-Hugos will be presented at a red carpet "1943 Worldcon Party" scheduled as part of First Night at Worldcon 76, on Thursday, August 16, 2018.